PDA

View Full Version : Advice for live gig.

GDane1
01-08-2013, 02:02 AM
Thought I would ask here first before facing flamethrowers at TGP.

Our 'other' guitarist quit our band suddenly and without notice. We have a gig at the end of the month (medium size bar gig, no FOH) and I wanted suggestions on making me sound more full. I'm pretty new at using delay.

Should delay be on full-time? Leads with delay on top of delay? (I have two pedals if needed).

Electradyne into 2x12 cabinet - ?second cabinet out to other side of drummer. We're now a 4 piece. Singer plays nothing.

Also, can an octave pedal be used to double the guitar parts, especially for Lenny Kravitz "Are You Gonna Go my way" - I play the open part, wanted to double for the octave mimic at 12th fret.

Any advice appreciated. Thanks in advance. G.

wolf
01-08-2013, 07:24 AM
my advice is don't over complicate things and add more mids to your tone. guitar tone is all in the mids. adding more will not only fill out the tone but will also bring you forward in the mix.. especially for solos.

Pietro
01-08-2013, 08:18 AM
Do what you normally do.

Goose the mids (and a LITTLE of the lows).

Try to play more chord solos and fewer single-note ones.

Have fun.

tom
01-08-2013, 09:28 AM
I agree, don't complicate your rig. Play loud and full. Definitely have fun.

Briggs
01-08-2013, 09:35 AM
+1 to all of the above. If you start trying to add a bunch of stuff you don't normally use, you will be more distracted and over think your playing. Add miss and lows (judiciously). let the chords/notes sustain and hang out there. That being said, when our elec guitarist is out, I keep both voices on my crowdster+ on pretty much all of the time. IF for certain sections of songs (ala Lenny) you feel a need an octave to add a bit more sound, experiment with it overt he next month, but don't feel like you need to make up for both guitar parts. Don't stress and have fun!

GDane1
01-08-2013, 02:40 PM