PDA

View Full Version : Installing a pre-wired guard

Casper
12-19-2011, 07:51 AM
I've never done this before. Isn't it just matching wire for wire..unsolder one, solder another? Going form 3 VAs to SCs with Hum. Input anyone?

tom
12-19-2011, 10:34 AM
Should be as simple as connecting the hot from the jack to the center of the volume pot. The ground from the jack and string ground to the back of a pot.

markus
12-19-2011, 11:28 AM
It's very simple if you know the basics of how to solder. I ordered a pu loaded and pre-wired pick guard from Tom some time back and it's in essence soldering 3 wires.
I guess the biggest mistake people make in my experience (me included when I started soldering a few years back) is using a too small soldering iron, which will end up not getting hot enough or might not have a big enough tip. But if you use the appropriate tools, it's extremely easy...
Hope this is helpful.

Casper
12-19-2011, 12:42 PM
Thanks guys, I'll give 'er a go..

dannopelli
12-19-2011, 12:51 PM
Considering that I can do pretty much anything mechanical, I personally never do soldering. I mean, I'll work on things that require such fine detail, its nuts. Have put in entire bathrooms, done auto body and tons of engine work, repaired china cups, done PC and MAC tech, not to mention working on my own guitars.

But for the life of me I can't get a clean solder! I just make a big mess. Heck if I burn up a guitar cord I take it to a friends house to solder it!

Oh yeah, have fun Shaun... ;)

Casper
12-19-2011, 12:55 PM
I used to work for a communications firm in my younger days, and have soldered a mic cable or two...its been Years, of course. I need to buy a soldering kit. I know DT could do it in his sleep, I just feel like I oughta try??I just hope I remember which wire is which..I foresee a call to either TAG or the Fire department in my future:o

tom
12-19-2011, 01:40 PM
we can always send a pdf wiring diagram if you need it.

Casper
12-19-2011, 01:41 PM