PDA

View Full Version : Advice on M's

GASMAN
12-15-2011, 07:44 PM
OK. I've been playing VA's for quite a few years. Always been a "strat"--single coil guy. Can anyone tell me what to expect from two M1's and an M2 in the bridge, compared to the VA's that I'm used to hearing?

Yes-----I'm considering another Anderson. (I'm addicted)

Thanks.

lumco
12-16-2011, 01:46 PM
I want to read the answer to this question..

GASMAN
12-16-2011, 01:49 PM
I know sound "descriptions" are hard, but can expect: hotter output? not as bright of over-all tone? fuller (basser) response?

That kind of thing.

Pyrrhic Victory
12-16-2011, 02:19 PM
I'm very curious about this as well. How close to a humbucker is that M3, for instance?

dannopelli
12-16-2011, 02:21 PM
First of all, they sound great and are very versatile. Everyone I know that has them or has played them remarked on how nice they sound.

OK, so take a newer Strat PUP, like a 57/62 or something, marry it with a P90 and split the difference. That is about the output. But without the noise.

As far as tone, they do not sound like Vintage Pups, but they are not modern either. Voiced warm and round, but still chimey. So lean towards the P90 as donating a few more chromosomes then the 57/62. And they will do ducks, but not as good as real singles. There is just a bit more high end needed to get real ducks, and you can't tweak that in. But they WILL do ducks. And that is important to a singles player like me.

But that said, unless you are playing them RIGHT next to a guitar with actual single coils, you won't notice.

Oh, and overdriven, they sustain for days.

I have them in a DTC, and a HCS. I can even get ducks out of the Cobra!

tom
12-16-2011, 02:49 PM