PDA

View Full Version : tom how did you get started?

dpeterson
06-07-2004, 01:33 PM
Tom,

I'm trying to re-think what i want to do when i grow up... currently i'm a web developer, and i'm about sick of sitting behind a computer, and want to try to get into something i like/love. not that i'm going to quit cold turkey or anything either..

I've always fiddled around with guitars, doing mods for friends and myself, routing, soldering, building from parts etc. I'm real good at setting them up, have friends all the time bring me stuff to get it to play better.

I bought a junker neck off ebay, and refretted it. It came out ok, but not as uniform, i'm sure that will happen with time, and you learn tricks etc.

I need to start investing in some good power tools, i have a good drill press, decent table saw, need a band saw and some other stuff.

Is there any route that you would suggest going from your experience or any advice to get started? Remember i live in Ohio, and have a family, so packing up and getting a job at a big guitar company is out of the question.

thanks,
Dave

tom
06-07-2004, 02:25 PM