PDA

View Full Version : looking for small combo amp

ClayCromer
04-17-2010, 04:39 PM
I'm currently running my C+ in stereo thru an AER compact 60 for the acoustic side and a fender princeton chorus on the electric side. The AER is amazing and brings out the clearest acoustic voice I could ask for. I'm not as happy with the fender for what I'm trying to do, partly b/c I have to keep the volume on 2 or 3 max to keep the stage noise down (I lead music at church), but I think it's time to upgrade anyway. So, I've been looking at smaller tube combos like the Egnater tweaker and Blackstar HT-5. I'm really new to the electric amp thing and have been enjoying reading posts from everyone. What I'm really after is just good clean tone for the most part b/c I love the CMA pickup (and I'm sure I'll be upgrading to C++ before too long). I'm also thinking a smaller, lower watt amp might be better so I could enjoy it at a relatively higher vol on stage as my monitor (I'll line out to the PA) and then mic if necessary. Also, is there much of a tone difference between a head and matching cab vs. the same thing in a combo version? Just wanted to see if anyone has any input...thanks, Clay

strat56
04-18-2010, 08:37 AM
Hi Clay,

I have a couple low wattage amps (15 watts or less) that I like and a couple that are mid wattage (30 and 40 watts) that can also fit the bill as a low wattage amp.

My newest is the Egnater Tweaker, it's very versatile and sounds really great. I have the head and cab, the combo isn't supposed to be out until May. A great variety of tones and sounds very big.

Rivera Venus 3 1X10 combo. It's also 15 watts but has a 1/2 power switch on it to cut it back to 8 watts. Again very versatile and compact and very good tones.

Genz Benz Black Pearl 30 1X12 combo. 30 watts with switches to cut it back to 15 or 8 watts. Has a voicing switch on it with 5 different voices and a foot switchable boost function. Another very versatile and toneful amp.