PDA

View Full Version : Suhr, Tyler, ect... $$$$$ Why?

andersonguy
05-13-2004, 11:54 PM
Can anybody out there tell me why so many of the other quality luthiers charge so much more than Anderson for their product?
Im wondering what their justification is, or is simply that Tom really gives us a great fair price? I cant imagine these other guitar makers as having superior products.

AG

Stan Malinowski
05-14-2004, 06:35 AM
Good question ag!

As I said in another post my Suhr Classic is a great guitar, luckily I found a used one that was exactly item for item what I wanted. If I design an Anderson with the same specs I find that the Suhr is about $400 more at the discounted price levels.

I have no experience with Tylers, sad to say, but his headstock design turns me off. I've seen that his selling price is close to Suhrs.

I really have no explanation why Suhrs and Tylers are substantially more expensive than Andersons other than that's the free trade system!

dpeterson
05-14-2004, 06:56 AM
tom probably doesnt want to gouge. you can charge what people are willing to pay, and the market will bear.

Dave

Stan Malinowski
05-14-2004, 07:17 AM
One other thing I noted on the pricing of Suhrs - the LIST price between equivalent Suhr Classics and Anderson Classics are very close. It is the discount a dealer is willing to give that accounts for the price difference to the consumer. Suhrs are typically discounted less than 20% off list. I don't know whether this is by agreement between JS and his dealers or just based on supply v. demand dynamics.

Rick
05-14-2004, 09:52 AM
I think there's some variation between dealers' discounts for both Andersons & Suhrs (don't know about Tylers), but I think they average out pretty close. In their list prices, various features cost more or less on an Anderson vs. a Suhr, so it seems like which new guitar would cost more can really depend on which add-ons you order from whom.

pluto
05-14-2004, 12:06 PM