PDA

View Full Version : Band in a Box? Is it worth it?

dannopelli
03-09-2009, 05:20 PM
Anyone familiar with this as a songwriting tool?

Is there anything similar?

Does it interface with Logic, or is there anything like it that does?

THANKS IN ADVANCE!

Stys
03-09-2009, 06:25 PM
Dano, are you using Logic? If so, what are your thoughts? I actually enjoy everything Logic has to offer. It has been really successful for me.

Anyway, have you called Sweetwater (sweetwater.com) Their engineers may assist you regarding Band in the Box.

dannopelli
03-09-2009, 07:14 PM
I am using Logic but am still new at it. It is really quite simple yet powerful. So I am kind of the wrong guy to ask.

My problem is that since I am still new at this when I get a song idea I spend more time screwing with software than writing. Also, currently I really do not have a recording "workstation." Long story so I won't bore all y'all but there is not room for it until later this spring when we clear out one of the buildings on our property. So every session requires setting up, gear etc. By the time I get the idea out of my head I forgot what it was supposed to sound like - and then it doesn't.

So I thought I'd try the Band in the Box thing - or something similar. I can get the idea out of my head by just writing out the chords. And if there is a way I can then work the tracks with Logic, I can take the "reference" tracks and make them real at a later date.

Hope that explains my situation. And good idea on the Sweetwater thing. I'll call tomorrow.

Suriel Zayas
03-10-2009, 04:33 PM
dan, you have garage band in your mac, right? have you tried that? at home i use logic with apogee duet, perfect together.:cool:

Stys
03-10-2009, 04:40 PM