PDA

View Full Version : Hello!

TommyK
03-17-2008, 11:09 PM
I'm a newbie as well, and I have to say this is a great site! I already found an answer to my Lone Star question, and am enjoying all the other information available. I still cannot believe that Tom weighs in from time to time...How cool is that!

Oh, and it's on order... A hollow Atom due toward the end of the month!

pipedwho
03-18-2008, 12:49 AM
Welcome!

It's an exciting time while you're waiting for your custom TAG. Only a few weeks to go!

I just received a custom Cobra S a week ago after a 6 month wait. And let's just say that I'm still on a high! :D

dannopelli
03-18-2008, 08:55 AM
Welcome! This is a cool site!

Once you get your Atom we'll teach you the secret handshake!

TommyK
03-18-2008, 10:16 PM
Hey, thanks for the warm welcome! I do have one more thing...Any opinions about Koch amps? Specifically the Studiotone or Multitone? I've been reading some mixed opinions. I've also read about some transformer problems? I've narrowed my choices down to the Lone Star classic or a Koch (O.K. I saw Dimeola a while back in a small club in Cleveland and, of course, it sounded great). but I digress...

dannopelli
03-18-2008, 10:28 PM
I would go with the Boogie. To my ear Koch are very sterile and harsh.

The Lone Star I must admit is one of their better efforts. I think you'll be happier with it long term.

That said for the price of the Boogie I'd get a Dr Z Maz 38 and a couple of good OD/Distortion pedals.

TommyK
03-18-2008, 10:32 PM
Yeah, I just read some of your posts on the amp/cab section. Looks like I'll be checking out a Dr. Z .
Man I love this forum.
Especially the harmonic discussions of wooden legs!

dannopelli
03-18-2008, 10:36 PM
Yeah, I just read some of your posts on the amp/cab section. Looks like I'll be checking out a Dr. Z .
Man I love this forum.
Especially the harmonic discussions of wooden legs!

You should see the one about pedal boards! Or the various humidity threads!