PDA

View Full Version : anyone have an opinion of the DD-20 vs TC Nova Delay?

geoangus
12-30-2007, 07:18 PM
Having seen the pedal board photos, I remember seeing many DD-20's. I really like the footprint of the Nova, but have been unable to find one local to demo. How do they compare for ease of use? And more importantly, how is it for finding delays similar to the Edge, Belew and Gilmour? Not that I can play like them, but I like trying.

thanks.

m_lance
12-31-2007, 02:56 AM
I've no experience with the Nova, but I can say that as of about a year ago, the DD-20 was the best delay for the money available today (it can be had for $179).

It nails the analog delay sound (I've A/B'd it with a Maxon AD-80 in a quiet room ... I cannot tell the difference) and the rest of the sounds are nice too. The high end roll off will do the Analogman hi-cut mod sound and there are some interesting other sounds to play with. I don't care for their warp sounds but you might like them.

It's not true bypass and can't be powered by my Voodoo Labs PP2 (I don't have the PP2+). Other than that, no complaints. It also has an external pedal jack you can use for tap tempo so you don't have to give up the 2nd footswitch for channel switching - a great feature!

The Nova delay does look good, but if you can't find one to test drive (and you don't mind the true bypass or power issues), I think you'll be quite happy with the DD-20.

All that being said, I play a Diamond Memory Lane.

tom
12-31-2007, 12:03 PM
the dd20 can run off the line6 output on the pp2 with a standard cable.

kurt1981
12-31-2007, 12:17 PM
Tom is correct, you can run it off inputs 5 or 6 on the PP. Also, am I the only person who has noticed noise on the DD-20? I kept hearing a high pitched hum in the background with this pedal, I've owned several over the years, and they all exhibit this. I liked the nova, very musical sounding, but ended up with an AD900.

pipedwho
12-31-2007, 06:44 PM