PDA

View Full Version : Mac Book or Mac Book Pro?

dannopelli
12-16-2007, 11:36 PM
Ok, so I am going to take all y'all's advice and go Mac with VMWare. That way I don't have to buy a new Office, etc.

But for recording and such, can I get a Mac book with 2G of RAM or do I need to go Mac Book Pro? I like the footprint of the Mac Book.

Also, your thoughts on recoding software? Is Logic Express worth it? What about an external mixer?

Thanks again. Sorry for being a pest about this.

mbrown3
12-16-2007, 11:49 PM
I use a Tascan US-428, but there are some other great options for hardware. For software, I use and HIGHLY recommend Cubase.

Re: a Mac, any will work. :)

kiko
12-17-2007, 12:45 AM
Mac book pro, it worth the extra money. BTW you dont need VMware just use boot camp and you can have dual boot with MAC and Winsh@#

hahahahahaha

If you need advice shoot me a PM. I work in IT and i am a mac lover also :D

Pietro
12-17-2007, 08:49 AM
If you save the money on the mac by getting the MacBook (enough for most recording imho) you will be able to afford the new interface from Apogee. Will you need a keyboard and midi interface or keyboard with usb, too? For me, I don't use one of the external mixers/control surfaces because I find it easier (yes easier) to do all that stuff on screen.

Get a reasonable external hard drive, too. And imho, invest in the full Logic program, not Express. The extra stuff is worth it.

Also, I'd switch to the mac versions of the software you want to use. Running Windoze on a Mac is a little like running your TAG through a Peavey Rage.

Buy the black one, too.

dannopelli
12-17-2007, 09:57 AM
...Running Windoze on a Mac is a little like running your TAG through a Peavey Rage...

GOOD ONE!

I just like the footprint of the Mac Book.

Thanks!

pipedwho
12-17-2007, 02:28 PM
I put 2GB of memory into my Macbook, and it's great. You're right about the form factor, the Macbook Pros are just a little big in comparison.