PDA

View Full Version : Hello from north of the border!

Eric Pykala
08-02-2007, 05:30 AM
Hi folks! Just picked-up my first Anderson, immediately joined the forum, and thought I'd say a few words of introduction. I'm Eric Pykala, I've been a professional musician/luthier/engineer/producer for forty years now. I've also been a manufacturers rep for the likes of Paul Reed Smith, Soldano, Groove Tubes, Hipshot, blah blah. Yeah, music and great guitars are my life.
Anderson #1 for me is a Hollow T, #7-15-95A. She is amber flame on basswood, a beautiful piece of rosewood on maple, all gold and pearloid. Absolutely stunning, but in need of a bit of work (see my thread in Technical). Can't believe the flyweight, and the deep contours help her melt into my body like she was born there. Very impressive! My taste in Teles usually runs to the strictly vintage side (and I've scratchbuilt 16 of them), but this axe wants to be judged for what she is. The stacked hummers sound darn good in both the thicker and vintage sounds, and all five sounds are really musical. I can't wait to get her out to a rehearsal, and then play her out live and loud. (Next gig is opening for Albert Lee, but that's at a Musicman clinic, so I'll be using my Albert Lee Limited Edition Musicman for that one...darn!).
I'll post some pix and a full Tone Report after I get a chance to gig her, but so far I am really blown away by the quality and Tone of this little amber gem! Kudos to Tom and the gang at TAG! Peace.-Eric

kurt1981
08-02-2007, 09:02 AM
Welcome to the forum, sounds like you've got some serious guitars there, and some serious credentials. Good luck on the Albert Lee gig, that'd be a blast!! Let us know how the anderson sounds, if you're like a lot of us, it'll quickly take over most of your guitar duties.

Kurt

Eric Pykala
08-03-2007, 05:50 AM