PDA

View Full Version : strings (again)

andersonguy
02-22-2004, 10:37 PM
Hi guys, I know the subject of strings has come up in the past but I wasnt here yet.

I play on avarage about 1 or 2 hours a day, blues, rock kinda stuff. Im not particularly an aggressive player but I break a string about every 7 to 10 days, usually a d string, but not always. This happens on different guitars, not just one. I always use a little tri-lube on the bridge (where they break) when I change them.

I have been using SIT's for many years and really like them, Thought switching to Elixir would help but it only hurt my wallet as I still break them.

Has anybody out there tried the cryogenic (frozen) strings with any success?
How do they hold up/sound?

Any suggestions?

I appreciate it!

AG

SteveK
02-22-2004, 10:46 PM
WOW...I've broken 1(!) string in the last 20 years or more...have you checked for a sharp edge or burr on the saddle for that string? Do you change your strings on a regular basis?

andersonguy
02-22-2004, 10:47 PM
Happens on all my guitars not just one. :(
I wish I was so lucky as to get a couple weeks out them.

skydog
02-23-2004, 12:19 AM
Andersonguy,

I know it sounds weird, but is it possible you're hitting the strings too hard with your pick? If you have a harder than necessary attack on a consistent basis, it can cause string breakage.

dpeterson
02-23-2004, 07:29 AM
I used 10-46 for many years... then i had a bout of not playing much, so i went back to 9-42's.. started popping strings like mad, went back to 10's and no problems. Brand was Ernie Ball, but one day I got sick of all of the packaging they use, and tried the d'addarios with the "green" packaging, and then I started breaking them again. Went back to EB's and no breaks.