PDA

View Full Version : Dr. Z

Casper
02-09-2004, 08:40 AM
Its rig-changing time for me...I recently had the pleasure of playing an 18watt DrZ 210 combo (unsure of the name). I LOVED it.
I have been playing a Peavey Classic 30 for over 10 years now. It has been a solid amp and has never failed me once; however, even after I hot rodded it with Teslas and upgraded the speaker, I am never able to turn it up past 3 on stage (very loud).
I guess the attraction is the lower wattage makes the tubes work harder and the warmth of the Dr Z sings out..

Another point, I have a friend who would sell me an old Fender pro reverb? (22 watts), that sounds nearly as good. I could get this amp for under 600 vs. almost 1800 for the Dr Z.
Anybody have opinions about this. Its a foregone conclusion that I'll have to use distortion pedals too. I won't color the good tube tone this time with digital....Feel free to chime in on that...

killerburst
02-09-2004, 10:24 AM
Originally posted by Casper
Its rig-changing time for me...I recently had the pleasure of playing an 18watt DrZ 210 combo (unsure of the name). I LOVED it.
I have been playing a Peavey Classic 30 for over 10 years now. It has been a solid amp and has never failed me once; however, even after I hot rodded it with Teslas and upgraded the speaker, I am never able to turn it up past 3 on stage (very loud).
I guess the attraction is the lower wattage makes the tubes work harder and the warmth of the Dr Z sings out..

Another point, I have a friend who would sell me an old Fender pro reverb? (22 watts), that sounds nearly as good. I could get this amp for under 600 vs. almost 1800 for the Dr Z.
Anybody have opinions about this. Its a foregone conclusion that I'll have to use distortion pedals too. I won't color the good tube tone this time with digital....Feel free to chime in on that...