PDA

View Full Version : Fender 65 Deluxe Reverb Reissue

Casper
10-12-2006, 07:10 AM
Considering this amp very seriously. My bud has an original and I love the clean it gets. I haven't run pedals through it yet, but I like the 22 watt thing and love the warm and sparkly sound I get with my Classic with SDs. Haven't played my DT with H2+ yet.
Anybody own one of these? Gigging/Reliability/Road worthy? I have a Fender Champ 25 I use at rehearsal and love that little Monster, other than that, never have owned a Fender Tube amp. Had some solid state stuff back in the 80's and it held up great. I have been using a modded Peavey Classic 30 for the last 10-12 years on the road nearly without fail, but the DRR has it beat in tone. Or maybe I just need to hear newness? Any thoughts.?
thanks-Shaun

olectric
10-12-2006, 08:41 AM
I've heard great and terrible things about that amp...the terrible stuff coming mostly from people who own/play the real deal. Seems that everyone is really quick to say that it's nothing like the original. Hmm, really? Completely different era of parts (PCB for one), different tubes, different speakers, and lacking about 30-40 years of age. Of course, it's not the same thing. But you can get close for pretty cheap.

Lots of guys replace the speaker with a Weber 12F150 or an Eminence Red, White, and Blues (just got one myself for $65), and replace the GTs with JJs. Just those two steps make an incredible world of difference.

I just bought a Silverface Deluxe Reverb (thanks LonestarGtr), and I love everything about it. Haven't played a reissue except at GC a looooong time ago. A DRRI might be a wise buy for me as well so that I don't haul the Silverface around everywhere I go. Good luck with your purchase!

guitarzan
10-12-2006, 09:17 AM
Like, Olectric, I've heard mixed reviews. It's really hard to wade through them, though, because some guys won't dig a Reissue BECAUSE it's a reissue and not the real deal. My two thoughts are: