PDA

View Full Version : 1X12 vs 2X12. Does it matter when close-mic'ing??

riffmeister
07-05-2006, 09:49 AM
I'm considering taking one speaker out of my 2X12 combo (Savage Rohr 15, in case your interested) and repackaging it into a smaller cab. I want to lighten my load.

I always mic my cabinet at gigs. I position the mic near the edge of one speaker cone angled in to point at the dustcap. The mic is placed at the left side of the right-hand speaker so it is suspended near the center of the cabinet's grill cloth. Furthermore, I place a baffle in front of the speaker to keep sound from bleeding into mics and to keep anyone in the band or in the crowd from being right on axis.

Question: When close mic'ing one of a pair of speakers like this, do the benefits of a multi-speaker cab ever make it out of the house speakers??? It seems unlikely that it would make any appreciable difference in the house. But this belief is based purely on intuition. I have no data or direct experience.

To my ears, dual speakers give more chunkiness to the bass, a slight bump in overall SPL, slightly wider sound dispersion. I'm ready to give up these things in favor of a physically smaller and lighter amp.

But before I make or buy a new cabinet, I ask: can a SM57 pick up the diff between a 1X12 and 2X12?? What do you think?

MapleGuitar
07-05-2006, 06:25 PM
...can a SM57 pick up the diff between a 1X12 and 2X12?My experience says "no" -- especially, close miked. Save your spine!
BTW, I also have a Savage Rohr 15. Great amp... a little noisy in the studio, but way fat tone.

riffmeister
07-05-2006, 07:25 PM
Is your Rohr a 1X12, MapleGuitar? What speaker does it have?

My 2X12 combo is a humongeous cabinet. It's gotta be the heaviest 15 watts ever!!!! The Rohr is an immensely good gigging amp. It's super juicy.

MapleGuitar
07-06-2006, 03:14 PM