PDA

View Full Version : M1-/M1-/H2 Atom tones

GaryMcT
04-24-2006, 11:08 PM
I've been doing some recording tests at home to figure out how to record guitar.

This is my Atom (in my sig) straight into the Randall RM50B with the Top Boost (AC30) module along with a THD HotPlate on -16dB. Everything is at the same amp settings . .gain at about 10-11 o'clock, master at 3 o'clock. . just tweaking the guitar. The right side is close mic'd with an SM57, and the left side is an audio technica at822 stereo mic (just using one side) on the other side of the room. Both mics are plugged straight into an m-audio firewire 4-10 audio interface. I think you can really hear the power tubes cooking here with the hotplate. To my ear, the volume at -16db is almost still a little bit too loud to be practicing at home.

Excuse the playing. . . I'm a bit nervous about posting anything here with all the great players on here. I'm a hobbyist with guitar when I'm not staring at a computer monitor. :) Since there has been a lot of talk about M's getting single-coil tones, I figured I'd record what my Atom sounds like including some single-coil-like dirty tones.

http://home.comcast.net/~g.mctaggart/test.mp3

olectric
04-25-2006, 12:06 AM
Great clip, Gary! I would have put all my money on most of those parts having been played on a Strat (especially that 7#9 chord a quarter of the way into the clip). You showed just how stratty and single coilish that M1- can really sound. And you did it WITH AN ATOM. Good work!

sean
04-25-2006, 01:02 AM
Thanks for the clip Gary.There are some very convincing statish type tones with the M- pu's,even with an Atom.My Hollow Atom will have twin h'buckers(Ho1+ and Ho1-)with them being split in some poitions.I'm thinking about my next Tag already.Perhaps an Atom w/M-,M-,M3?Or A Cobra with the same pu's.Hmmm.......

GaryMcT
04-25-2006, 02:10 AM