PDA

View Full Version : Elixir strings noise

funalij
09-17-2005, 06:54 AM
I want to share my strange experience with Elixir strings:

Recently I bough a TC with M1-M1-M3 from a forum member. When I pluggged into my amp, a strong noise (static) sounded, even when I touch strings. The vol and tone pot making static noise when i roll on/off too.
When I touched 6-5-4th strings the noise goes on (I couldn't do a gliss because noise was so strong when my fingers pass over frets), but touching the 3-2-1st the noise was only a little.

I sent a msg to Tom and after a couple of msg, he told me ... "the coating on them has some insulating properties. i have been using them for several years and what you are describing is never a problem for me" (honestly, I thought it was a bad tone pot)

I changed to D'addario strings ............the noise disappeared and tone and vol pot worked without problem.

I owned a TA classic with Elixir strings (I always use these strings in this guitar) that sounds very well, and I never had this problem with Elixirs.

Maybe, it was a bad set of elixir strings

Javier

tom
09-17-2005, 10:33 AM
javier, i still don't see when that would be a problem in a playing situation. i'm never turning my tone control when i'm not holding the strings. also the problem is only on the wound strings.

funalij
09-17-2005, 03:38 PM
javier, i still don't see when that would be a problem in a playing situation. i'm never turning my tone control when i'm not holding the strings. also the problem is only on the wound strings.
Tom, like you say the problem is only on the wound strings, but just image to play by 5th in the wound strings, I coudn't play anything with this noise.

When I gigged with my band, we play about 75 to 80 themes by night(5 hours playing), the most are rythm paterns (chords), so I will be carefully all time about noise if I don't touch strings.