PDA

View Full Version : Classic intonation with BF off sets. Finally got it right.

tlp1
08-04-2005, 08:56 PM
I quit playing for a year. Before I laid the guitar down for a year, my Classic (the first TAG I ever owned) 6-1-97A had just given me such a hard time with set up. I tried to set it up just like I have every other electric I had during the past 20 years. I knew the BF off sets made a difference. But I just kept getting so many different stories from people (including the dealer I bought it from) on the correct method. I've always set up my own guitars to suit myself. And this one just wouldn't come around to my liking. This year when I started playing again, I started from scratch with an open mind, a Korg DT-7, Graph Tech saddles, and Elixer Strings. One thing I noticed about the DT-7 is that better results were had when you did not count the decay as a reference, but the initial attack as the most accurate referencs, and also to muff all other strings when working with a single string. Once I finally got the action high enough, and bow in the neck to my liking (I hate super low action) I went for setting the intonantion. I must say it took a while temper the tuning, but once I did, this guitar sounded more in tune than any other I had ever had!!!! Amazing. Truly amazing. A seasoned steel guitar player at one of the Sunday afternoon jams I frequent came to me and was astonished at how in tune this guitar sounded to him. I thought this was a little odd, but as the afternoon went on other musicians came to me with the same comments. It's one thing for me to hear something, but I thought it a little odd that strangers would offer these comments. When I first bought the guitar it came with SIT strings. I had always favored Fender 3250R super bullets. This time around I tried the Elixers. I figured oh well just another kind of gimmick for strings with some silly teflon coating. But hey, I was really suprised! They were not too bright and lasted more than 4 hou