PDA

View Full Version : Opinions on maple/alder HDT

Bard
08-03-2005, 06:17 PM
Hello folks,
Guess I should start by briefly introducing myself. I'm a school teacher from Norway, 30 years of age and a hobby guitarist. I currently own a few PRS's and (more importantly around here) a brilliant '97 Anderson Hollow T Classic Contoured. It's just an amazing guitar; light, resonant and with a very lively tone.

Well, to the point: I'm thinking about buying a Hollow Drop Top from the UK. It's new old stock, serial no. 12-13-02N, maple top on hollow alder. Could someone please explain what to expect sonically from this particular combination of woods? I know maple is fairly bright sounding, but will the guitar still sound alder-ish..? :) In general, will alder/maple sound brighter than alder/ash, for instance?

My Hollow T is alder/alder, and to my ears it sounds very well balanced, with all the highs I need. I really love the sound of alder, but this HDT looks absolutely stunning with its maple top in my favourite Anderson stain, and the neck specs are spot on as well. If someone could only please tell me the maple doesn't take away too much warmth, we may have a winner.

Any help would be much appreciated.
Thanks,
Bard

jimmieb
08-03-2005, 09:13 PM
Bard,

I included this guitars specs from the Andie web site.

Price - $3,330.00

Model - Hollow Drop Top
Body Finish - Deep Tobacco Fade with Binding
Body Wood - Flame Maple on Alder
Neck Wood - Hard Rock Maple, Madagascar Rosewood Fretboard
Neck Finish - Matching Headstock, Satin Back
Nutwidth - 1 5/8 in
Frets - Heavy
Back Shape - .030 inch oversized
Hardware - Chrome
Bridge - Vintage Tremolo
Pickguard -
Pickups - SA1R SA1 H2+
Switching - Switcheroo, Vintage Voicing
Strings - .009-.042 Elixir strings
Comments -