PDA

View Full Version : Help! Grounding Problem w/ Hollow T

BCoryH
04-02-2005, 11:18 PM
I am no expert, but my new Anderson Hollow T Classic (TV1 / TV3) does not seem to be grounded properly. When I plug it into any of the inputs in my amp - a Clark Beaufort (Tweed Deluxe) - I get a fairly noticeable buzz. When I touch the strings or any other metal on the guitar, it goes away. To troubleshoot, I plugged-in a Fender Tele and did not get any buzzing - the amp was silent.

Is this something that I can fix on my own, or do I need to return the guitar to Anderson?

Thanks!

Cory H.
Houston

tom
04-04-2005, 11:56 AM
wish i had a nickel for every time i've heard this question.
My guitar is making a lot of noise that subsides when I touch either the volume or tone controls. What’s the problem?

The problem you're experiencing is a common one that has a rather complex answer. First of all, any guitar that
doesn't have active pickups will have this problem, to varying degrees depending on pickup power. The problem is that we humans are very good conductors of electricity, being sacks of mostly water. You're guitar is grounded through the guitar cord to your amp. You, are also grounded when you are touching anything metal on your guitar. You being a great conductor, acting as a shield when you are grounded. This is why when you are near your amp, and holding your guitar, you can turn your body to reduce the hum coming from your amp. When you are not grounded to your guitar (not touching anything metal), you are still a good conductor, but instead of being a shield you are an antenna for all the world's hum and noise, drawing it close for your guitar to hear and amplify. The most common solution for the problem is to roll your guitar volume pot down when you are not playing or keep your hands touching some metal on your guitar.