PDA

View Full Version : Analogman King of Tone--worth the wait?

olectric
02-07-2005, 11:47 AM
I added myself to Analogman's ever-growing waitlist for his King of Tone pedal on December 1st, 2004. At the time, he was advertising a 2 month wait. I've emailed him recently, and the guy is swamped--he's still making orders from last summer! This must be an immensely popular pedal--I've seen one go on eBay for $ 275--almost $100 more than list. Does anybody own this pedal? If so, how do you like it? If not, what other boutique OD/boost pedals do you suggest?

harrellab
02-07-2005, 10:19 PM
olectric,

Actually, I just tried a King of Tone out today. I'm a guitar student in college and one of my professors is big into the boutique stuff and is always bringing in stompboxes for us to try. So today he brought some Analogman stuff. We played the K.O.T. through a Fender Deluxe and it sounded great. He also brought the Analogman compressor which sounded good, but I think I like the Keeley comp. better. I'm sure you'll be happy with the K.O.T. when it arrives. As far as other distortion boxes go, a lot of people like Fulltone's Fulldrive 2 and Distortion Pro units(www.fulltone.com), Xotic effects AC booster(www.prosoundcommunications.com), and Robert Keeley's modded versions of TS9's, DS-1's, BD-2's, RAT's, etc. There are gazillions of distortion pedals out there and they all sound different; some are very transparent, subtle boosts used to drive the front end of your amp, while others are way over the top high-gain things. A lot of people have at least 2 or 3 distortion boxes on their pedalboard since they can be so dramatically different. If you haven't already, try using your dist. pedals with a compressor in front...can "smooth out" a good-sounding pedal that might be a little too "harsh."

olectric
02-07-2005, 10:53 PM
harrellab--