PDA

View Full Version : Zion

mbrown3
09-23-2004, 09:52 AM
Anyone played a Zion guitar (particularly Primera)? I noticed that Phil Keaggy uses them and am wondering if anyone has had any experience with them?

killerburst
09-23-2004, 03:09 PM
Careful. Zion guitars are assembled from parts made by other manufacturers. Ken Hoover no longer runs the company and the new owner has made significant changes. I have heard of Zion sourcing parts from several companies (including TAG in the '80s- don't know if that's truth or rumour). I know Zion used to use necks made by LaSiDo (Godin), and more recently a southern CA banjo maker. There's a handful of unamed-sources out there doing work for lots of "name" companies. Zion is pretty much an assembly line company. Don't get me wrong, they have made some fine guitars, but just make sure you know what you're getting and play it first.

Casper
09-24-2004, 12:45 PM
Before I started playing Tom's stuff 13 years ago, I was a Zion freak. I would think anything you get from the early to late 80's would be a fine choice. Ken Hoover is a wonderful person and built some of the best axes around for the money. I had a metal marble with emgs and a Floyd..built like a tank and gorgeous.
If you can find a Zion Pickasso, they are rare pieces. the paint jobs were world class.
Casper

jimmieb
10-21-2004, 09:26 PM
Originally posted by mbrown3
Anyone played a Zion guitar (particularly Primera)? I noticed that Phil Keaggy uses them and am wondering if anyone has had any experience with them?