PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on the "VA Booster" set-up

John C
11-08-2003, 07:32 PM
Hi guys,

While I'm new to the Anderson Forum, I've been around on the (soon to be shuttered) PRS Forum and some other places. I'm currently using a Suhr as my strat, but I will freely admit it was a tough choice versus the Anderson and lately I've been having some regrets. My Suhr is pretty classic: maple neck, ash body, SSS with his V60 Low Peak pickups. Also, this is only the third time I've gone with the maple neck; I normally prefer rosewood and am thinking of going back to a rosewood board. Of course, that reopens the "strat search" for me. :)

Before getting the Suhr, I tried out an Anderson Classic with an ash body, rosewood board that had the "VA Booster" set-up: VA12/VA12R/VA23. What are the pros/cons of this versus a more "vintage" pickup set (VA1/VA1R/VA12)? I kind of liked the sound I got from the Classic with the VA Booster, but in the end went with a vintage set up.

Has anyone really done a serious A/B between the VA Booster and the standard VA set-up? I'm not even sure which setting I preferred, but I think it was the vintage setting as opposed to the hot setting.

Thanks for any opinions.

John C.

Stan Malinowski
11-09-2003, 11:13 AM
John,

I haven't done an A/B between the "traditinal VA" setup and the "booster VA" setup but I'll give you my theoretical input.

Both of my classics have the VA1/VA1R/VA12 setups. Personally I find them very traditional and reminescent of 50's type lower power strat pickups - very sparkly and chimey. If I raise the pickup height I tend to get more of an agressive early 60's strat sound (ala SRV). My guess is the booster setup will give you this early 60's agressive setup at lower pickup heights and perhaps alate 60's/early 70's at higher pickup heights.

If you a really intersted call Roy and Anderson and he will spend a considerable amount of time on explaining the tonal differences to you!

John C
11-09-2003, 03:10 PM
Stan,