PDA

View Full Version : Kind of frets

funalij
07-30-2004, 07:16 AM
Hi everyone

I'm new in TA guitarīs world.
I hope in a few days I will get my first TA classic.

I have a question that I donīt understand, that's the difference between frets.

I know there are medium, jumbo frets, stainless,.....

Where the difference is?, In sound ?, I suppose itīs the action but not sure.

Anybody could tell me about it?.
What itīs better for a TA classic?

Please, my english itīs not as good as I want, so, I would like the explain as clear as possible.

Thanks everybody
Javier

killerburst
07-30-2004, 09:40 AM
Small, medium, jumbo, heavy, etc. are all references to the size of the fret wire, specifically the part of the wire that lies on top of the fingerboard. There is probably some measurable difference in sound, but I think most people choose their preferred wire based on feel. I like Tom's medium or heavy wire best. Some people like small wire like on old Strats. Some people like extra-jumbo frets like on '80s Jackson and Ibanez guitars.

Stainless steel refers to the alloy from which the fret wire is made. Traditional fret wire on most guitars is made from an alloy called nickel-silver (although it contains no silver). For the past couple of years, Tom has been using wire made of stainless steel. The difference to me is largely the feel and durability. They always feel like they were just dressed and polished, even after 100 gigs. I used to steel wool my frets on a regular basis because I HATE the feel of the oxidation that nickel-silver acquires over time, as well as the uneven wear marks they inevitably show. Now I don't have to do anything to my frets- they are always as perfect as the day the came out of Tom's shop. My guitars with stainless frets feel and sound incredible and it's difficult for me to consider purchasing a guitar without them now.